top of page

Luminaries and Planetary Influence on the Zodiac

Updated: Sep 29, 2023

When most of us think of astrology, we think about our Sun signs and not much else. Do you know what some of the major influences are, though, that define these Zodiac signs?

First and foremost is the Sun. It is the center of all life and represents a person's personality and spirit. The Moon, on the other hand, gives us our Soul. The Moon is the ruling planet of Cancer. It's associated and known as embodying a maternal nature and as " The Mother" of the Zodiac- whereas Capricorn, ruled by Saturn represents the Father. This makes sense when you remember that Capricorn energy is very motivated, driven towards outward success and can sometimes be seen as rather cold or even detached a bit. This is the sign of an achiever and a provider, doing whatever it takes to achieve success, especially in terms of materialism. Materialism isn't a bad thing here, but rather exposes this outward expression of energy and willpower manifested in the material and physical world. Whereas with the energies and influences of the sign of Cancer we find hidden depths, powerful healing energies and a softer- but still as strong- power and disposition. Where Cancer nurtures, Capricorn provides. Where Cancer emotes, Capricorn makes career or financial strides. In Chinese astrology, the Moon represents Yin, while the Sun represents Yang.

Mercury rules over Gemini and Virgo. It is the planet of the mind and of communication. The messenger of the Gods ,it is quick witted and wxcells at business and networking and travel. In other words, it is the planet of the idea and the means to communicate the idea. The planet Venus rules over Taurus and Libra. Venus is associated with characteristics and principles of harmony and beauty. It is, of course, concerned with love. It is also concerned with the pleasure we derive from personal possessions and aesthetics. It values the more sensual aspects of life , such as touch, good food, good wine and fine art.

Mars is the ruling planet for the dynamic and driven Aries, and a partner Planet with Scorpio, alongside mysterious Pluto. Mars is the planet that is concerned with the things you want, and how you go about getting those things. How you manage and cultivate your drive and execute your powe Jupiter is associated with pleasure , expansion, philosophy and enjoyment. It is the ruler of Sagittarius and is also associated with principles of growth, religion and higher education.

Saturn is the ruling planet of Capricorn and is associated with principles such as reality and restrictions, boundaries and rules. Saturn was traditionally the ruler of Aquarius until the discovery of the planet Uranus. Neptune is the ruling planet of Pisces and is associated with deception, illusions, dreams, spirituality and psychic phenomena. The planet Pluto is the ruling planet of Scorpio and is associated with the concept of transformation, rebirth and death. Regenerative in nature it pulls on these universal forces to destroy and rebirth what needs to be undone and renewed

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page